You are here

Faculty & Staff

Mrs. Bienvenu, Nadean
Administrative Assistant

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 323
Phone: (337) 482-6647
E-mail: environmental@louisiana.edu

Miss. Cornell, Kristie
Instructor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 325
E-mail: kcornell@louisiana.edu

Mrs. Eastin-Hughes, Rachel
Administrative Assistant

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 329
Phone: (337) 482-6468
E-mail: rachel.eastin-hughes@louisiana.edu

Dr. Caitlin deNux, HH316
Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 316
E-Mail: caitlin.woodard@louisiana.edu

Research interests: Sustainable agriculture & soils

Dr. Ferré, Eric
Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 336
Phone: (337) 482-2888
E-mail: eric.ferre@louisiana.edu
Google Scholar 
Website

Research interests: lithosphere deformation (hard rocks) from seismic to geologic deformation; paleomagnetism; rock magnetism.

Mr. Finley, William
Adjunct Instructor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 325
E-mail: wrfinley@rocmando.com

Dr. Hargrave, Jennifer
Instructor & 
Director of the Lafayette Science Museum

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 327
Phone: (337) 482-0678
E-mail: jhargrave@louisiana.edu
Website

Research Interests: Paleontology, sedimentary processes; depositional systems; geoscience education and outreach. 

Dr. Hope Jahren
Adjunct Professor

Website

Research interests: stable isotope geochemistry, paleoclimatology, photosynthesis, science communication

 

Dr. Kinsland, Gary
Professor Emeritus

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 321
E-mail: gkinsland@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Seismic and potential-field geophysics, coalbed natural gas resources, 3-D immersive virtual reality, and the Chixulub impact.

  Dr. Liu, Bingqing
Assistant Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, TBD
E-mail: bingqing.liu@louisiana.edu
Google Scholar
Research Gate
Website

Research interests: aquatic optics, hyperspectral remote sensing, machine learning, blue carbon, water quality, harmful algal blooms

Dr. Lock, Brian
Professor 
Emeritus

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 334
E-mail: belock@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Sedimentology and petroleum geology.

 

Dr. Mahatsente, Rezene
Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 333
Email: rezene.mahatsente-tewelde@louisiana.edu
Google Scholar

Research Interests: Exploration geophysics, Inverse modeling of Potential fields, Integrated modeling of lithosphere-asthenosphere interaction

Dr. Martin, James
Research Professor and Paleontological Curator

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 335
Geology Museum: 433 Jefferson St, Lafayette, LA 70501
Phone: (337) 482-6468
E-mail: jim.martin929@gmail.com

Research Interests: Vertebrate paleontology

Dr. Oppo, Davide
Assistant Professor
 
Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 310
 
Research Interests: Cold seepage; Marine geology; Sedimentology; Tsunami
 

Dr. Poudel, Durga
Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 308
Phone: (337) 482-6163
E-mail: ddpoudel@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Soil science, water quality, sustainable agriculture; Environmental Restoration, Invasive Aquatic Plants, Green Infrastructure, Environmental Pollution, and Climate Change

Dr. Richter, Carl
Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 314
Phone: (337) 482-2977
E-mail: richter@louisiana.edu
Google Scholar

Research Interests: paleomagnetism, geomagnetism, environmental magnetism, and ocean drilling

Dr. Schubert, Brian
Interim Director and Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 315
Phone: (337) 482-6967
E-mail: schubert@louisiana.edu
Website
Google Scholar

Research Interests: Geobiology, stable isotope geochemistry, paleoclimate, global climate change, geomicrobiology, evaporite sedimentology.

Mr. Suir, Glenn
Adjunct Instructor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 331
E-Mail: glenn.m.suir@louisiana.edu
Research Gate

Research Interests: Wetland restoration, Coastal processes, Remote sensing, GIS

Dr. Villa, Jorge A.
Assistant Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 329
E-mail: jorge.villa@louisiana.edu
Website
Research Gate
Google Scholar

Research Interests: Wetland ecology, carbon sequestration, methane emissions, ecological engineering

Dr. Xu, Yingfeng
Technician

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room
Phone: (337) 482-1113
E-mail: yingfeng@louisiana.edu

Dr. Zhang, Rui
Associate Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 313
Phone: (337) 482-6920
E-mail: ruizhang@louisiana.edu
Website
Research Gate
Google Scholar

Research Interests: Exploration geophysics, reflection seismology, inverse theory, Carbon capture and storage (CCS), Enhanced geothermal system (EGS)